Acne Galore

Wow…. to think that I had clear skin as a teenager… well, just wow. I certainly don’t have it now. I mean, look at me back then.

pigtailedheather

Hah, so that is an awful picture of me, but still. Look how clear my skin was back then. I hate the idea that as an adult, I’m suffering from severe acne.

I saw a dermatologist for the first time on Tuesday. The cystic acne and the major breakouts were beginning to be too much. I made an appointment after getting a cystic acne spot on my chin that literally was like a quarter in size almost. It covered my entire chin and I couldn’t talk without it hurting. I’ve been getting the cystic acne for about 8 months now, maybe a little longer? I don’t really know, but it’s getting worse and worse. I couldn’t take it anymore. I needed help. The scarring I have is awful, embarrassing an has really hindered my self esteem.

I’m on 4 different medications, sun block and a mild lotion. I’m taking doxycycline (oral antibiotic), epiduo, clindamycin (topical antibiotic) and plexion wash (sulfa-type wash). One of the medications (or maybe more than one) had me vomiting this morning before work. It was NOT fun. I’ve been feeling a little icky all day long. I don’t want to post pictures now because eventually, after I’ve been on all of these medications for it, I want to do progress pictures, so everyone will have to wait on hearing back on how it’s worked for me (or not worked.) Here’s to hoping for clear skin again soon!

Leave a Reply

