My Future Career

Day 4 of the Better Me Challenge. When I wrote this the first time, I hadn’t known if I wanted to do in home daycare still or teach preschool. Well, after the past few weeks, I’ve decided that I really do not wish to do in home daycare once I have my degree. Where I used to love the baby stage, it’s just not my favorite stage anymore. I like the stage where they are learning and willing to learn. I like when they can communicate with you. I want to teach 2 and 3 year olds at a preschool. I don’t want to do “childcare” of any sort once I have my degree.

I know this seems very different because I do care about the kids I currently watch, but I don’t have a life outside of my home. I’m stuck at home all day long with the occasional gym visit and maybe picking up my kids from dance or gym. That is it. I don’t get date nights, I don’t get time to myself, I don’t get to just randomly go shopping during the day on a Saturday for groceries, or anything else I might need or want because I work Saturday’s too. Everyone takes time off at different times and then when I finally plan my vacation, it’s a huge deal because it doesn’t work for them. I don’t have an 8-9 hour 5 day a week job. I have an 11-14 hour 6 day a week job. I work over 60 hours a week and I don’t get a break. That alone is enough to believe that home daycare is NOT worth continuing in the future. I want paid vacation, and paid sick time. I want to play hooky a time or two just because I can.

Like I said, I love the kids I have, but it doesn’t mean that I want these hours, especially when most of the time, I feel very unappreciated for my very long hours and tiring, stressful days. I can honestly say that anyone who recommends opening up and in home daycare, don’t do it unless you have very strict rules. When first starting, don’t just take anyone and work around their hours just because you want to get your foot in the door. Start off with a 7am to 6:30pm Mon-Fri no exceptions. A week paid vacation, paid sick days, and payments due on Monday. Do NOT even consider Saturday care. Do NOT take part time kids, and if you do, charge them the same as full time kids since they take up an entire slot from you.

I know, it’s meant to be a positivity post, but I needed to stress how important such a decision is and how it can really affect your life.

That said, I really do think the early childhood education approach is a good move for me. While ages 2 and 3 are very difficult at times, they have communication skills, they want to learn and it’s easier to have them on some sort of schedule. So, it looks like when I’m done with college, I’ll be looking for a full time preschool teacher position.

Leave a Reply

